160 High Street
+44 1482 324114
18th century merchants house in Hull. Unusual plasterwork staircase an example of the luxury afforded by successful merchants in Hull's trading heyday. Free Admission.
Maister House on High Street in Hull is owned and maintained by the National Trust. Rebuilt in 1743, this fine merchant's house is a grand survivor from Hull's trading heydey. The building’s sober facade hides one of the most fascinating interiors in the city; and a story of wealth, tragedy and high art. The only National Trust property in Hull, Maister House is now occupied by the long established firm of architects, Gelder & Kitchen. The staircase is open to the public during office hours.
The Maisters were one of a number of merchant families who lived on Hull’s High Street and traded with ports around the North Sea and Baltic. On the night of 12-13 April 1743 the Maisters’ family home caught fire. The construction of the present Maister House was well underway by the winter of 1744. The stairwell is a square space rising through the full height of the building. A broad staircase runs around three walls connecting the ground floor with the first floor landing. A gallery (reached by a hidden stair) runs around the stairwell at second floor level, above this daylight enters through an octagonal lantern. Whilst the walls of the stairwell are relatively plain, the ceilings, including the underside of the gallery, are richly decorated with stucco plaster.